Hoyt HyperEdge Main

Hoyt HyperEdge Initial Review

My long, overdue Hoyt HyperEdge review is finally here! A fellow ArcheryTalk member was gracious enough to send me his to install a set of TwistedXBowstrings as well as to look at a high tear issue and install the NEW 65% Mods from Hoyt. In this review I’ve got a lot of information on how this bow feels to draw and hold on target. I’m going to go over the new mods and how it changes the shot feel. I’ve got some numbers and pictures to compare string angles to my Hoyt Podium X Elite 37 and I’ll also go over the high tear issue that I experienced as well. Let’s start with design and feel of the bow first.

 

Hoyt designed the HyperEdge along the lines of the Alpha Elite and Pro Edge Elite that pre-dated it. But what area was this designed to fill? To me this bow, and its predecessors, fill a hybrid area of target and hunting bows. It’s a parallel, or in the case of the HyperEdge a beyond parallel, limbed bow using Hoyt’s hunting bow cams with their target riser geometries and lengths. This blends the best of both worlds together to create a unique feel both at full draw and through shot execution and follow through. With the HyperEdge, Hoyt designed its longest riser to date to pair with their X2000 limbs (edit: ULTRAFLEX Limb System) in a pre-tensioned, beyond parallel set up. This longer riser is where you find the stability in the HE. What you’ll notice at full draw is a very easy to aim bow that gives a slow and steady float when set up to you correctly. The HE is a very effortless bow in so many ways. The aiming and float is very similar to my Podium X Elite, but in a completely different feel. You can really feel that this bow gathers its stability from the riser and feels very stable and solid in your hand. Holding on target is very simple, even without stabilizers. That’s actually the part that impressed me the most on this bow. Without my stabilizers on the bow just holding on target was very easy and all I had to do was adjust how I put my bow hand into the bow to keep from canting the top over to the right.

 

The draw cycle with the HE is very smooth and there’s not a hump towards the end. There’s also not a dump into the valley that’ll have you banging into the draw stops. The new DFX cam is very circular and designed for smooth operating. From the factory the let-off with the DFX cams are 80%. In this position you will have a cam that lets you be a little lazy and not have the bow want to take off on you. When I first started with this bow, I wanted higher holding weight to mimic my PXE, so I changed how I set up the bow. I left the draw stop peg in the position I needed my final draw length to be, but changed the modual position to one step longer. This allowed me to adjust the cams and get 66% let off and get my holding weight closer to the 65% I run on my PXE. This change didn’t affect the draw cycle at all and it actually gave me a firmer back wall and even better hold on target. This was the set up I used for the majority of testing and shooting until the 65% mods from Hoyt came in. The new mods from Hoyt come with thicker draw stop pegs that are all aluminum. Running the draw stops and the mods in the correct locations, the way they would be set up from the factory, I was able to get 65% let off. With this information and knowing I was able to get 66% without purchasing the new mods, what would make you want to spend the money on them? The draw stop pegs! Short and simple. Wow, the feel after switching was incredible. They are rock solid on the back wall and gave a better feeling by far. They aren’t as solid as a limb stop, but it’s as close as you’ll get and still have a little give in the cables from a typical cable stop.

 

On the shot the HE performs like a typical parallel, or beyond parallel, limbed bow. It’s very linear and just pops a little at release. The limbs working in a vertical fashion from full draw to brace don’t make the bow jump forward, or want to move away from the bow hand. People familiar with, and who prefer this style of bow, will revel in the HE on its performance. It’s very dead, with little to no vibration. With the natural balance of the HE, you might even look at a v-bar set up to keep the balance and only add weight to the bow to settle any human errors or aiming difficulties you may have. If you’re one that likes a pop forward and a direction for energy to travel, like the PXE and similar full on target bows provide, this bow will feel odd to you. You can work on giving direction to the energy of the bow a little with stabilizer set ups, but in the end it’s still the design of the bow to be, “dead in the hand.”

 

This is where the analytical and technical part of the review really starts. I took a look at string angles on this bow and my PXE. The PXE is a roughly 37 inch axle to axle bow versus the HE that uses a roughly 36 inch axle to axle set up. Hoyt advertises that with the new DFX cams, the string angle from a shorter ata HE should be similar to a PXE 40. Here’s an exerpt from Hoyt’s Website: The result is a 2016 30.5-inch bow that feels and performs like last year’s 34-inch equivalent. Yes, you read that right, your compact tree-stand or ground blind bow will feel and perform like a stable and forgiving 34-inch bow, and your 34-inch bow will perform like a 37-inch target dream bow. If the numbers don’t convince you, your experience at full-draw and your tightened arrow groups will. Looking at the numbers given here from their advert, you can use the numbers from their example to compare a 36 ata to a 40 ata. For my testing I had my 37 ata PXE, so keep in mind that will be what my results are based off of.

 

What I found was a string angle that felt a little sharper than my PXE 37, but only by a touch. I was instantly comfortable with the HE’s string angle and could set it up very comparably to my longer PXE. However, when you look at data numbers, they’re actually very, very similar. For my measurements on cam to cam, I measured from the outter most point top and bottom on each bow. A note for the Spiral Plus Cams, on the top cam at full draw it has a very tall peak. With a similar comparison of DFX cam to DFX cam, I can see where the statement from Hoyt would be correct. This comparison however is solely based on target to target styled bow.

The numbers were taken from a 28 11/32 inch AMO draw length on each bow.

HyperEdge                                Podium X Elite 37

At Brace:                                   At Brace:                                    

ATA 36 1/8                                  ATA 37 3/8

Cam to Cam 40                        Cam to Cam 41 3/4

Full Draw:                                Full Draw: 

ATA 32 7/8                                 ATA 34 1/8

Cam to Cam 37 1/2                  Cam to Cam 37 3/4

Difference:                              Difference: 

ATA 3 1/4                                    ATA 3 1/4

Cam to Cam 2 1/2                    Cam to Cam 4

String Angle:                          String Angle: 

42.1 Degrees                             42.9 Degrees

The numbers that matter the most on string angle and bow fitment are the cam to cam numbers. Surprisingly, the difference isn’t much at all at full draw. Only 1/4 of an inch between the two bows. This shows in the degree on string angle, and this is actually the most surprising numbers of the whole test to me. The degree of difference is only 0.8! So by feel, I can tell it’s just slightly different, but I was expecting more than this to be honest in relation to numbers.

 

The last aspect of the HyperEdge I want to address is the high tear issue on paper/low bareshaft impact. With the HE I had, the issue persisted with both mods and various draw lengths that I tried as well. All through the spectrum of adjustment on the cam in fact. What I did find after inspecting things on my draw board though, was the bottom cable stop protruding enough to hit the cable as it was rotating by it. I shimmed the cam over to the left, away from cable rod, and was able to gain clearance with the stock strings and the high tear went away. The unfortunate part here is that, this is only one issue/fix for the HE. I have heard of these bows having a high tear issue even with good clearance. So the mystery remains for the others, as I’ve not seen them personally to try out any fixes. But, if you have one with the high tear issue, check the clearance on the lower cable stop and maybe this can be a fix for you.

 

Overall I was very impressed with the Hoyt HyperEdge. Mostly with how effortlessly it aims and how steady the bow is on target. If you’re one that likes a less aggressive cam and the bow to sit still at the shot and provide no jump or feedback, the HE is an excellent choice for you! Just don’t forget to purchase a set of Ultra Lock Adapters from Last Chance Archery so that you can press the bow.

 

image4 (1)

image5

image1 (15)

The result after shimming cam.

image2 (2)

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Hoyt HyperEdge Initial Review

    1. rcrchery Inc. Post author

      They should debut them at the ATA show and they’ll have an updated #2 cam. The updated cam is actually available to get now I believe. It’s designation is a 2.1 cam.

      Reply
    1. rcrchery Inc. Post author

      I haven’t gotten one in my hands so far, but from what I’ve heard, the shape of the mods are a little different, or atleast in a different spot on the cam. Here’s Hoyt’s number. Hopefully they can give a better response. (801) 363-2990

      Reply
  1. Rubén Genaro Ochoa

    Great review! today ill try the 66% let off.
    I have an issue with my bottom cam that its breaking my serving, i see others HE with the same problem, do you think with the spacers also solve this problem?

    Reply
    1. rcrchery Inc. Post author

      Hi Ruben! It sounds like you need to adjust the cam spacers around to take some lean out, if the draw stop peg isn’t hitting the serving and damaging it as the cam rotates around. The spacers should be four thin ones, two in each side, that you can change around to find a better fitment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

